top of page

Triathlete of the Year

Vermeylen and Geens elected as Triathlete of the Year ! (Press release)

Athletes of the Year: HTML intégré

In Gent, last Saturday, Jolien Vermeylen and Jelle Geens, both 4th in the European Championship (EC) Munich 2022 with the Belgian Hammers, were elected as Belgian Triathlete of the Year 2022.


Jelle Geens has had a very impressive season, competing with the top-level triathletes in World Cup, finished 5th in the EC Munich and reached three times the WTCS top 5. Jolien Vermeylen finished second on World Triathlon Cup Bergen, and took Bronze home during Europe Triathlon Cup Lievin.


A national jury of experts selected a shortlist of four athletes, from which all affiliated triathletes could vote for seven days. Hundreds of athletes from both leagues (Triatlon Vlaanderen and Ligue Francophone de Triathlon) voted.


In the multisport elite’s category, Arnaud Dely crushed it for the men, with his very consistent performances, and outstanding 2nd place in the World Games Duathlon Mixed Relay, while Maurine Ricour won the women’s category, thanks to her victory in the World Games Duathlon, and its 2nd place in the Mixed Relay with Arnaud Dely.


The Para-triathlete of the Year title went to Wim de Paepe for the second year in a row, who has shown an impressive season and won the 3rd place at the World Triathlon Grand Finals in Abu Dhabi.


Belgian Triathlon also awarded two Special Prizes. The first one for the Technical Official of the Year, won by Chris Vermeire for his national engagement for years. The other one, the Organization of the Year award, was won by Batifer Eco-Triathlon that offered livestream

Athletes of the Year: Pro Gallery

Discover our 2022 champions.

bottom of page